Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where to dig?

Default Where to dig?

Hello everyone I am fairly new to prospecting and have done a little bit of research. I have my eye out on a creek where I haven't heard or read about anyone else prospecting in it. I want to try it this spring with a sluice box that I will purchase soon. My question is where would I start to dig to fill my buckets and what features to look for in my digging selection? Should it be material right from the creek or on the side of it or even on the side of a bank?

Thanks

As close to bedrock as you can and I would also take samples using an gold pan to find the hot spots or should I say gold spots.

Lot of varribles there.

Is there a high water mark? If so might try out some of the bank/moss on the sides. (I've had luck there)

Most creeks ar'nt flowing over bedrock, but if you find one that does, look in all the nooks a cranies, lol

I always try to find the biggest rocks and dig down under them. ( the ones in the creek )

Not sure if its a small creek or a large one you are talking about, look for gold indicators. ( That would be like garrnets and such)

Good luck and have fun.

Gold is where you find it.
    That being said gold usually follows a common path.
    That path is usually the shortest route. Usually this is the inside of the bends and a straight line between the bends.
    Bigger rocks often concentrate gold on the downstream side.
    Be sure and do a lot of sample panning as well.
    This is the best/only way to be sure an area has some gold in it if there is no recorded history of gold there.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

Here is cool web site but I guess I would start with verifying where I wanted to dig wasn't on a claim of someone elses:
    http://nevada-outback-gems.com/basic...sic_placer.htm