Thread: First Fly fishing rod

Default First Fly fishing rod

Hello All,

I am new to fly fishing, and I live in the Fairbanks area. Curious about a few things.
    1. Are there fly fishing shops in the area that I could go to and ask some questions about?
    2. I can look on you tube and ask friends for advice on how to fly fish, but I learn by hands on training. Is there anyone in the Fairbanks area that offers fly fishing lessons?
    Any answers will help and be greatly appreciated.

sadly the fly shop in FBX closed down soon after sportsmans moved in

rumor has it that theres a couple shops around town that still sell equipment though one of the archery shops maybe... There may be a few guides around who do the upper chena, search the internet... I think the closest actual fly shop would be in Talkeetna, if that guy is still there.
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Big Ray's had a fishing section when I was there in December. Pretty much the whole down stairs is fishing stuff, a lot of it fly fishing gear.
    All the romance of trout fishing exists in the mind of the angler and is in no way shared by the fish.

Any recommendations for an anglers first fly rod? What should and shouldn't I be looking at/for? Name brands, combos, and any advice would be great. Looking for a setup that isn't too harsh on the wallet but good enough to last a while as the little brother gains more experience flyfishing.

I got the TFO 8wt combo and like it so far. The rod has a lifetime warranty. I would also look into the Echo Rods and a Lamson Konic reel if you wanted to piece together your own set-up. I would Mossy's Fly Shop if you wanted to go this route.