Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Airboat with Lycoming O-540

Default Airboat with Lycoming O-540

I have an airboat with a Lycoming engine it it. I have an over heating problem and no nothing about airplane power plants. And now with a messed up back I have no way to really work on it. So does any one know of or do work on Lycomings for a reasonable rate? Thanks for any help.

This is the boat with the problem:
    AB4.jpg

As an aircraft mechanic, I can just make a couple recommendations to check. If this setup has operated correctly in the past and is now running hot, check for an exhaust restriction and check fuel flow and make sure it is not running too lean. On an air cooled airplane engine both will cause overheating.

Hope you get it fixed.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

What octane fuel are you running? Also I've talked to people that put a bigger oil cooler on and relocate it to a spot that gets plenty of air circulation. Just some thoughts.....I was in the same situation as you, with that same boat many moons ago (2003).......... I finally sold it. I brought it up to the Ivishak/Echooka.........thats a whole other story. The guy I sold it to said he had a friend that was a aircraft mechanic and he was going to fix it up. I took a loss on that boat big time......ssshhhhh....don't tell my wife. I hope whoever you bought it from informed you of it's history and gave you a deal!

Quote Originally Posted by ratlmn View Post