Thread: Comparing infatables for shallow water/PWS/lakes/some rivers. How to buy well?

Smile Comparing infatables for shallow water/PWS/lakes/some rivers. How to buy well?

Hello I am new to the powered inflatables and need some help.

I have searched through the threads and tried to sort the abundance of opinions and information. I am starting to look for an inflatable for getting on the water. I have used and done very small repairs on hypalon inflatables and feel most comfortable with this material but I am not opposed to considering some of the other materials.

What we will use it for:
    Near shore halibut and salmon (as comfort and confidence grows, I hope our range will grow)
    Little Su (lower)
    Deshka?
    Lakes, deeper rivers/ Kenai legal
    Possible PWS hunts

Capacity:
    Usually 2 to 3 people with occasional capacity for all 5 in our young family

I am most likely going to buy a used boat but I want to buy well. I have heard of some boats cavitating or bending in different circumstances. Are there brands and models to be sure to consider/look for? Are there brands and models that are not good quality? (Zodiac?, Mercury?, Achilles?, etc.)

What are deal breakers when buying an inflatable for saltwater use? What things are headache problems you don't want to deal with?

What are the most critical items that need to be in good condition? How can you tell? (ex. how do I know the transom is good?)

What is too big to beach launch with 2 or 3 guys?

Thanks for your help! I really do appreciate it.

Mike