Thread: Brown Bear Limits?

Default Brown Bear Limits?

Okay I want to pick the minds of the smart guys. I'm ashamed to admit that I have a 4 year degree and can't understand the regs. If you kill a brown bear in a 1 bear in every 4 years area, can you kill another brown bear in a 2 bear every year area, also know as predator control areas??? Help me out, going to Game and fresh and ask them later this week but wanted to get your take on this. The way I read the 1 in 4 reg I would say I'm done for the year, however the way the 2 in 1 reads to me is you could still take a bear in one of the 2 in 1 areas. Resulting in 2 bear in the same year. Also if you kill a blackie in a 3 bear GMU, can you still take another blackie in a 1 bear GMU? Just trying to stay straight with the law.

Thanks Steve

Default NO

"Also if you kill a blackie in a 3 bear GMU, can you still take another blackie in a 1 bear GMU? Just trying to stay straight with the law."

You have it backwards for black bears.

If you harvest a bear in a 1 bear unit, you can harvest 2 more in a 3 bear unit.

If you harvest a bear in a 3 bear unit, you may NOT harvest a bear in a 1 bear unit.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

The short answer is yes,as long as you don't go to a one bear area your ok.

daveinthebush,your right on the money....

As for the brown bears, it works the same way (actually, it is the same for all species). If you harvest a brown bear in a 1 every 4 unit, you can then harvest another in a 2/year unit, or one next year in a 1/year unit. The 1/4 years regulation only restricts you from hunting in another 1/4 unit for 4 years. Same idea with caribou. If you take one in a 1/year unit, you can then go and harvest another in a 2/year unit.

-Brian

Don't forget to explain the regulatory year to him. So he knows just which season he can begin hunting again.