Thread: Chicken & Egg Problem

Default Chicken & Egg Problem

Hey Everyone-

I am quite curious how an individual is able to succeed as a float plane pilot. Yes, yes, as a pilot myself I understand the basic process. However, add floats to the mix and making a career out of it becomes clear as mud to me. Why? Well, once the individual gets their SES certification, they can't do anything with it. It is now virtually impossible to rent a floatplane. There are very few outfits out there that even offer a SES rating. Most of these outfits are owner/operator. I doubt their insurance will allow an individual solo that aircraft. I am sure one or more of you reading this post is going to suggest that the newly minted SES pilot purchase an aircraft to build time in it. Well, that's great and all, but most folks developing a career does not have tens of thousands of dollars just lying around to blow on a shiny toy while they owe tens of thousands of dollars to their creditors for the flight training they just completed.

Despite all of this, SE Alaska has a fairly healthy floatplane air-taxi community.

How is it done?

Thanks,

ZPilot

PS- I ask because I'd love to do some seasonal Beaver flying out of JNU or KTN. However, I have no idea how I would show up at an employer's doorstep with an adequate amount of float time.

Assuming you have both SES & SEL ratings you could go to work for a company that flies both wheel and float planes. After a year or two flying wheels, if you prove that your not an idiot, the company may put you in a float plane if there is an opening. You probability won't find opportunities like that in Juneau or Ketch, most likely you would have to go to Kodiak or out west somewhere.

do exactly what trailika said. wings of alaska in SE does exactly that.