Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Sheep Hunting

Default New to Sheep Hunting

Hey I am trying to plan my first Sheep hunt and I think that I am beginning feel the bite of that sheep hunting bug. haha. I have yet to even see a live sheep! So I guess I wanted to run a couple questions by some experienced Sheep hunting enthusiasts. I am a resident, and I am young and dumb, willing and hopefully able to walk and walk and walk until I find a sheep. Is going in from the road still a viable option for someone hoping to have an adventure of a lifetime without seeing crowds of other hunters and possibly even seeing a legal ram? I was looking into the Brooks Range and the Wrangell Mountains, but from other threads it seems like some of you believe that it is getting harder to find yourself alone in the Brooks. Anyway, any advice on how I should narrow down my future hunting area would be very welcome. Thanks a lot.

Go to the Kenai.....

Or the talkeetna's

Maybe even try the hills across the bay from Seward, they are kind of steep & rough in places; should provide ya a good workout?

Quote Originally Posted by kahahawai View Post
    Go to the Kenai.....

Here's a general approach...get an Alaskan atlas and the hunting regulations. Then, cross off all areas that require a permit. They're not that many areas that is feasible to reach from a road by foot that will be open to harvest tickets. That'll narrow it down for you.

Next, plan to spend this summer hiking in those areas. The next best option is to spend time in the hills East of Anchorage (if you live in that city) and observe sheep. Do this because 1) they are a beautiful to watch and observe behaviors and 2) getting to the sheep is only part of the quest.