Thread: Predator hunting in the spring

Default Predator hunting in the spring

So I must admit. I am a novice when it comes to predator hunting. I consider myself a fairly seasoned big game and small game hunter, but I have never got into this predator hunting before. I have started taking it up this winter, but I can tell I have a lot to learn. From everything I have read and researched, it sounds like the early season is hot, because the predators aren't as call shy. The mid season is a little more difficult because the predators are more wary, but hunger is their weakness. The late season picks up because the breeding season approaches. So how about late, late season, like spring? Is it any good? Is it worth getting out still? I realize about the only thing left to hunt is coyotes, but is there any downside to getting them this time of year? Are they harder to call in because the availability of food is greater? Does the quality of they're fur diminish as the temperature warms up? Thanks for your advice.

Jack,

It's not so much that it's warming up. But the hides this time of year become "burnt" looking and or rubbed because of the increase in sunlight. It could be -10 but the hides still go past their prime the more daylight we have. Sure, there are those who still go out later in the season, but those who want prime pelts know that trapping/hunting is pretty much over by the time March gets here (depending on where you are of course). We base our trap-line decisions on how the fox look on the slope. If they are beginning to rub and look like a woman with over-processed hair up there, then we know our critters down here are done.
    The plus side to calling, is you can take a good look at that critter before you take it. If its not something worth keeping then you leave it be, it'll be seed for next year.