Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wading jacket question

Default Wading jacket question

I'm looking for a wading jacket and find all of the ads pretty confusing. I'm hoping that some of you guys have found a wading jacket that works well and will share your opinions. I'm thinking it needs to be water proof (at least to some extent), have lots of pockets for tackle and hand warmer pockets. I've used Cabela's Guideware bibs and jackets on the Kenai but don't know about their wading jacket. I sure would appreciate some suggestions or ideas. Thanks in advance.

If you've got the money nothing beats the Simms G4 guide jacket. There's a special going on right now for guides and pros. I dont know what I'd do without mine.

I've been using the Cloudveil Crystal Creek Jacket for 4 years now and really have no complaints. It's been a great fishing jacket - Goretex Paclite is sweet. Big chest pockets for gear, handwarmers, and a large back cargo pocket. Packs nicely - so it's usually in my backpack for hiking, camping, etc. I've abused it pretty good and no issues/leaking so far.

It's discontinued, so hard to find. This is all I could come up with from a quick search. If you like red and are M or XL, pretty good buy. I paid $300 at the time and haven't regretted it.
    http://www.levelninesports.com/Cloud...ek-Jacket-Mens

Lots of good jackets out there in any price-range, I'm sure you'll hear plenty more favorable reviews for Simms jackets.

My $.02
    Pursue happiness with diligence.

I went all in and got the Simms G4 pro jacket. It was pricey, but worth it in my opinion. I was caught in some heavy rains this past summer and it never let me down. The cuffs seal nicely, and it kept me dry in all conditions. My brother has a less expensive Simms wading jacket he has used heavily for 3 years and he swears by it. The only problem with Simms is the price point is going to typically be rather high.