Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brown Bear Hide Tanning for Classroom

Default Brown Bear Hide Tanning for Classroom

I'm a science teacher in the Matsu Valley and I've been working with fish and game and I'm lined up to get a brown bear hide from them for my classroom and I'm wanting to get it tanned. This will be out of my pocket even though it's for my school so I'm wanting it to be as cheap as possible. Does anyone know a taxidermist that would be willing to cut a teacher a deal. I can give them some really good advertisement with it in my classroom. If not what do you think it would cost to get it tanned? I have a 6' black bear rug in my room at my school now. I would love for the students to be able to see the difference between the two species.

thanks

The going rate for tanning is about $50.00 a foot.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

check out moyle mink on the web. they do good work. www.moytown.com

Gosh Teacherman, judging by the run-on in your first sentence, it's a good thing you are teaching science instead of English!

Hope you find a good tanner. That would be a great visual to get kids interested in hunting.

talk with tim at trophy tanning and taxidermy, he's a nice guy and might be willing to work with you. does all his tanning on site.
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Quote Originally Posted by sayak View Post
    Gosh Teacherman, judging by the run-on in your first sentence, it's a good thing you are teaching science instead of English!

Hope you find a good tanner. That would be a great visual to get kids interested in hunting.
    I was expecting this comment, you are correct. There may be a little too much
    country in me but the kids love it and if you talk to them they love my classes Yes
    youíre correct I would fail the system if I had to teach grammar or English. It killed