Thread: Is this the norm?

Default Is this the norm?

I climbed a southeast alaska mountinin with my pointer and as soon as I hit the alpine he locked on point? I spotted to willow ptarmigan walkint to us, not away from us. To keep this short, I had to literally kick the birds to cause a flush. I still had fun but i was hoping for more of a challenge on my first alaska bird hunt. Is alaska upland bird hunting always this way?

Default A little chuckle!

Im no expert by any stretch as I've only been here since Oct, but I am pretty sure that that is what you have to look forward to! The few Ptarmigan I have seen so far wouldnt budge and if they did they just flew into a branch at eye level to see what you were. I did get some grouse to fly up on the rex trail, but was still able to get close to them once they were in the tree. Thats good for me as a photographer, but for hunting it makes for some unevenful encounters!
    US Air Force - retired and Wildlife photographer

To follow my photography adventures check out my facebook page

Default easy pickins???

My time has only been a couple years in Alaska and the ptarmigan expereinces have varied. Some birds have been very spooky and others have not been so. I have had birds running like track stars and some flusing before I could get in gun range 75 yards or more. Some sit till I kick them up, not the biggest challenge to shoot, but it can be good for the dog, testing his or her staunchness as they sit or walk around in front of it. I think there are several variables (others with more experience please tell me if you disagree), the cover, the amount of people traffic in the area, and time of year are a few.
    my 2 cents worth