Thread: Advantages of a setting the blades offset?

Default Advantages of a setting the blades offset?

I have kayaked in Alaska, from Valdez to a glacier; great trip. But this post is not about Alaska, it is the only active Kayaking group I could find.

I have been paddling with my blades offset since I first learned 35 years ago. On long trips I always carry bandaids because I can rub the skin off my right thumb. Yesterday I went for an 8 mile paddle in the Everglades and found I forgot my bandaids! My chances of getting back were slim, so in desparation I make the blades even and tried. It took 5 minutes of frustration, but after that i was fine. There was little rubbing against the thumb; in fact could actually paddle without my thumb, though not quite as well.

So, is there any particular advantage to offset blades? I always thought they were supposed to catch the wind and do horrible things, but it was occasionally windy yesterday and it didn't seem to make much of a difference. On the basis of yesterday, i am thinking of switching.

Quote Originally Posted by Toller View Post
    I have kayaked in Alaska, from Valdez to a glacier; great trip. But this post is not about Alaska, it is the only active Kayaking group I could find.

I have been paddling with my blades offset since I first learned 35 years ago. On long trips I always carry bandaids because I can rub the skin off my right thumb. Yesterday I went for an 8 mile paddle in the Everglades and found I forgot my bandaids! My chances of getting back were slim, so in desparation I make the blades even and tried. It took 5 minutes of frustration, but after that i was fine. There was little rubbing against the thumb; in fact could actually paddle without my thumb, though not quite as well.