Thread: Fleshing a hide

Default Fleshing a hide

I have a caribou hide that I have had frozen for a few months. I thawed it yesterday and last night and started to try to flesh it tonight. This is my first try, so I just got the hide from a buddy who was going to discard it so I could practice on it.

I am wondering if anyone has tips for the membrane on the skin itself. I can get the meaty chunks off easily with my fleshing tool, but for the membrane I have just had to scrape, carefully cut, and rip with my hands to pull the thing off. Is there a better way to do it or am i doing it right? Thanks for any help!

the membrane isnt a big deal usually...just make sure to get all the fat and meat off..what are you using for a tool? a good sharp ulu will flesh better than anything.....

Release Lake Trout

I am using one of those curved tools made for fleshing - picked it up at Alaska Range Trapping Supply. It has a beveled edge so it works well. I have an ulu also, so if need be, I will go to that. Like I said, no problem with the meat and fat, but I want to get all the blood and veins off, and they are in that membrane. If I don't remove the membrane, won't that matter when I actually tan the thing?

Are you going to tan it........yourself or have it tanned.....? I would suggest you go to any taxidermist in your area and they will be happy to show you what it needs to look like.

I am going to do it myself. Like I said, if I screw it up, no big deal...I will gain valuable knowledge, but I'd like to do it as well as I can. I just seem to think leaving the membrane will cause it to be stained all over either yellowish where the membrane is or blackish-red where the veins and blood are.