Thread: Skiff From Ketchikan to Fish Creek Cabin

Default Skiff From Ketchikan to Fish Creek Cabin

Pardon my ignorance as while I have done much stream fishing in the Seattle area for salmon, trout and steelhead, I know very little about salt water fishing and have never been to Alaska. This is my first post. I have lots of experience operating small boats but it has mostly been on freshwater lakes.

My wife and I are planning to come up the summer after next (2012) and stay in the Fish Creek Forest Service Cabin in the Ketchikan area for several days. It will be in the August timeframe. We plan to do a little hiking, fish the creek and lake, but also want to be able to dink around locally in the salt water, set crab traps and fish a bit.

The cabin does not come with a skiff, so I plan to rent one in Ketchikan (16 foot with 25 horse outboard). A larger boat is tempting, but not in my budget. I can have a water taxi deliver us and the skiff to the cabin. However, it is close enough to Ketchikan I am thinking I could spare that expense and just run it out there myself.

Need diesel for the cabin stove, gas for the boat, and several days worth of food and camping gear. I could see it being two adults plus 350 pounds of gear/gas/fuel oil. I know enough to stay off the water in poor weather conditions, but do not know the waters there and how often I would encounter conditions that would make me not want to attempt.

Sorry, for such along post just to get to my question. For those familiar with the area, would you advice I just run out there, or arrange for a water taxi?

What was your plan for the skiff besides getting to the cabin? Just running around in the area or taking it up to the lake? If your plan is to take it to the lake it won't work. You'll never get it around the falls. The buoy for tying off your boat is anchored off shore by about 150-200' so you'll need a punt or a rubber raft to get to and from shore.