Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need a scope recommendation for a 375H&H

Default Need a scope recommendation for a 375H&H

Could use some help selecting a scope for a Sako 375H&H. Needs to have a 30mm tube to match the rings I already have as they are pricey to replace. I'm new to the big bore game to could use some advice.

Thanks

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I also need scope recommendation for a 416 Rem using 1" rings. The one I have belts me in the forehead making accurate shooting difficult. I don't want to go scout mount.

My go-to scope for all boomers is the 1.5x5 Leopold or comparable. I'm not sure if a version is available with 30mm tube, but the 1" version is rock solid and has never come close to scoping me, even in 460 Wby.

The Leupold VX-3 1.5-5X20mm that Brown Bear recommends is very good. My cousin Has one on his 375 Ruger. I bought my setup about two years earlier and went with the VX-7 1.5-6X24mm with a 30mm tube.

Personally if I could do it all over again I would have passed on the VX-7. It is very good and I have no complaints other than price. The VX-3 is also very good and sells for less than 1/2 the price of the VX-7. The one big noticeable difference in the two scopes is the turret system. However, I sight my 375 at 2.8 inches high at 100 yards and don't plan on shooting anything further out than 300 yards so quick turret adjustments are a mute point.

At the low magnification levels and intended range of the 375 I just don't see the advantages of the VX-7. The VX-3 has excellent clarity and no fogging issues. It also has the typical lifetime warranty. Both have great light gathering at their max magnification level.