Thread: Any info about Nenana??

Default Any info about Nenana??

Hello I am into year number "3.5" of my 5 year plan to relocate to Alaska. So I have started looking for property. I have zero knowledge about Alaska other than what I have found reading on-line. I'd be interested in some info about the Nenana area. I have no specific reason for that area other than I found some property there that is within my budget. Would this be a decent place to start? I'm an avid outdoors man. I have hunted my entire life and travel quite a bit to hunt and fish. I'm pretty good with both a recurve and compound bow, shoot a little competitive pistol and do well with a rifle. I am a retired Professional Firefighter/Medic and also a Vet. I am open to any and all suggestions on the process needed to relocate and as stated before am not "locked" into any specific area. Really hoping to just find some advice from guys that are living the life and the pros and cons of starting out. I receive a monthly check from my Pension so not a guy "without a plan and a job, with only a dream" lol My main purpose is to just get away from the rat race and live my remaining days relaxing and enjoying the outdoors. Thanks in advance! BC

Forgot to ask. Is it totally unheard of to fine a kind soul willing to help a fella out? Something like I help out with the work/chores, provide some money in exchange for staying a short period of time. Just to get a "taste" of what it takes to live up there and maybe be taught some necessary skills?