Thread: Serious "What rod weight" question

Default Serious "What rod weight" question

OK, I'm a rookie.
    I have a nice 4 pc 5wt I picked up for small water & grayling in the high lakes. An OK 2 pc 6wt for float tubing lakes.
    Now I'm looking for something for the Kenai. Probably reds & silvers, occasional king (probably what I will intentionaly fish least just because opportunity is more limited), & maybe rainbows on the upper.
    Looking at St Croix Imperial 2 pc 9' in 8 or 9wt, or G Loomis 2 pc G1298 9' in 9 or 10wt.
    Recomendations?
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

Seriously :-) You know to be honest I have been fishing with a stick for a long time and I still do not have a complete answer.

I think the Loomis Rods are over priced and I don't completely care for the St. Croix sticks. We have Sage Nuts, TFO nuts, Orvis Nuts, Reddington Nuts, etc..... Nuts

So if I were to provide you an answer it would be which Rod Type matches your fishing style as an example Full Flex, Tip Flex, Mid Flex etc.. and does that type of fly rod meet your needs. Being your on the Kenai you might consider going to a 9'6" stick as well.

I would not chase anything in mid stream on the kenai unless it was an 8W and that is a losing battle in a crowd some days. If I know I were targeting Bows I would go down to a 7W and not exceed an 8W and it would be 9'6" tip flex or fast action rod for that type of water.

I am not helping sorry. Any WHO! Cast them both see which one meets your needs and the choice will be easier.

Good Luck!

Thanks Moose.

So far I have no fishing style! When I say rookie, I mean it.
    Both rods are similarily priced (around $130 or I wouldn't be looking at them) but are not in a "cast before you buy" type of location.
    Vance in AK.

"But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."