Thread: Is opening case mouth necessary

Default Is opening case mouth necessary

I am just getting into reloading and found that loading some 45 colt rounds if I skip the second die that opens the case mouth it seams that I can seat the bullets just fine and when I used the second die the completed round won't drop into my cylinder. I'm using hornady xtp jacketed bullets. Also I was currious i haven't figured out the case trimmer all my cases are once fired from factory loads and they were all pretty uniform length but longer then the trim to length so I left them as they were and my oal is still under the max oal and they cycle through the gun is that normal to not trim them in this case?

Don't expand the case mouth too much, just enough to start the bullet. Cast bullets need a bit more case mouth flare than jacketed. You then need to crimp the finished round, which closes this case mouth tight on the bullet and allows it to chamber freely. This crimp (fourth function) is done by readjusting the seater die, (after seating) or a separate crimp die, be it taper crimp, roll crimp, Lee factory crimp, or Redding Pro crimp ( a taper and roll combined).

I don't trim revolver cases, usually the length doesn't vary enough to matter. it will make an in-consistant crimp but I can usually live with that. You didn't mention rifle or revolver but rifles may have more strict requirements for seating depth, crimp, etc. Heavy loads in revolvers will need a strong crimp. Get used to the process and the feel of a good crimp.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?