Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Wooldridge Alaskan XL Motor Choice

Default New Wooldridge Alaskan XL Motor Choice

Well, I am finally going to bite the bullet and go today and start the paperwork on a new (08) Wooldridge Alaskan XL. Marita has some good pricing from the boat show.
    They come "standard" with a Suzuki 4 stroke 140 horse jet. It is being recommended by a friend of mine to go with at least a 175 HP motor on there as the more power the better in a river boat. I mentioned to the salesman that I might want to step up to the 150 but he said that the 140 Suzuki pulls stronger than their 150. This seems odd to me as a gearhead of sorts, but since I am a bit new to boats, I'll let it ride. Can any of you boat experts make any recommendations as to whether it would really be beneficial to me to upgrade to the 175?? I looked up the fuel economy figures on both of them and obviously the 175 isn't exactly a fuel miser, but when hauling a ton of crap, I think the 175 would earn its keep. Would the extra weight of the 175 be substantial? Can any of you comment on this? Thanks so much for any advice ya'll can give.

Mark

If it were me I'd absolutely upgrade the motor....call Glen at Wooldridge and he will give you a no B.S. answer to your questions...
    ------------------------------------------------
    pull my finger....

I can't comment on specific weights of each motor, or how the various motors will pull compared to each other, but I can say, you can never have too much power. It is suprising how much extra crap you start carrying and how quickly boat performance changes because of it. I would always reccomend more ponies available to the driver, but maybe someone with a AK XL and one of the above motors could give a better performance answer.

Should be able to go to manufactures websites and check weight/hp/gph/torque curves/just about any other data you want on the different powerheads