Thread: proper target rifle

Default proper target rifle

i am new to shooting. i would like to hit a quarter at 100 yards. i was given a savage model 187 which i have learned is not the gun for this goal. i would like any ideas of what type of gun, scope and ammo would be good for this. it would be strictly for target shooting as i am not interested in hunting

Quote Originally Posted by ronrocco12 View Post
    i am new to shooting. i would like to hit a quarter at 100 yards. i was given a savage model 187 which i have learned is not the gun for this goal. i would like any ideas of what type of gun, scope and ammo would be good for this. it would be strictly for target shooting as i am not interested in hunting
    Welcome to the forum!

It'll be tough to improve upon a rifle designed for precision work in .308 Winchester (i.e. a rifle like this, or this, or even this). There are numerous target loads (here, here, etc.) available for the .308 and the recoil is such that in a gun of modest weight it is very pleasant to shoot. There are numerous scopes that will work for target shooting, but you could do a lot worse than this variable or perhaps you prefer a fixed power scope. In truth there are lots of combinations that will work, but the items I linked are known entities that are durable and capable of consistent performance. Let us know what you decide.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.

.223 Rem/5.56 nato round.

Any of the 22 centerfire calibers and practice, practice, and oh yeah... practice and have fun doing it