Thread: Pros and Cons Hypalon vs. PVC

Default Pros and Cons Hypalon vs. PVC

I have checked the archive, maybe I missed a specific thread, but I am trying to get idea of the differences between materials. What I think I have figured out so far is that Hypalon is lighter and PVC is easier to repair in the field. I am shopping around for a new/modern self bailing first raft and am trying to grasp the differences. I am a beginner so it may not make much of a difference at this point.
    Thanks for your time.
    Mike

The debate! The SAGA~, the simple answer.

Beauty is also in the eye of the beholder if you get my drift. When one is speach-a-fying about the diffference and we all "do" some basic things come to mind however that being said I am sure someone will bless us with the techincal differences as they stand or should be.

Hypolon is basically Synthetic Rubber and has actually been around for some time. It is what it is i.e. a rubber boat DuPont in the USA is one of the Major Manufactures at this time. By definition it is a resistant to weather, ozone, water and aging although I would still treat it if you plan on sunning it often. IMO it has better air retention in cold weather / water is easier by far to fold and does not scar or crease as easy as PVC. Wieght differences are normally based on fabric count / density i.e. 30oz fabric versus 42 oz fabric. some manufcatures are treating it with a coating to make it a little more durable / slippery. It has a history of being the material that sticks to rocks i.e. not that slippery compared to other material.

PVC tends to be a little heavier even with the same oz count however does tend to be a little more user freindly. It is also treated by some manufactures with a coating. It tends not to fold as well is much stiffer in cold weather and does not tend to hold air IMO as well as Hypolon in colder weather. That is not to say it is not a sound material or proven far from it great boats can and are made out of PVC.