Thread: pattern suggestions for a new tyier

Default pattern suggestions for a new tyier

I am fairly new to tying and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for patterns that are effective, and that i can learn to tie and practice some of the skills associated with tying
    so far i have tied
    dolly lamas
    flesh flies
    articulated flesh
    wolly buggers
    polar shrimp
    battle creek
    glo bugs
    egg sucking leeches
    articulated leeches

any suggestions are greatly appreciated

try some stone flies, copper johns, thundercreeks, prince nymphs. all in different sizes and colors.

I would start with egg sucking leeches, flesh flies, woolly buggers. Perfect those then move on to articulated.

Try Articulating Zonker Minnows. They work really well.

Try to spin up some dries... start with Elk Hair Caddis
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Very good subject and all great ideas and suggestions. Couple of thoughts you might consider is what exactly are you trying to achieve with your tying. There are many steps to this addiction :-) It is very similar to fly fishing and there are steps in the process and expenses. If I had to start all over again i.e 32 years ago and I would have had information such as what is available today I would have loved for someone to tell me stay with a couple of basic patterns and make them perfect. Instead which was not a bad thing I was told you will never create a new fly just a modification of something someone already has thought of.

So sorry for rambling to answer your question basic attractors such as anything Bugger which includes the ESL make them correctly some with lead, some with beads some without etc... Once you have them looking like those in the Catalogs move on to another attractor pattern then worry about matching the hatch.

This rule of them will make you better tyer.

When I teach tying heres the progression I use which seems to work well