Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP!, How do I pick a powder?

Question HELP!, How do I pick a powder?

I posted (in the wrong place) asking about looking for a receipe for my 7mm and almost no response. I did find on my own that Barnes makes a bullet for my desires, it is a solid brass 140 gr made just for doing what I want, poking holes in fur bearers. Now I need to pick a powder. What is the criteria for picking a powder other that experience? Any of you out there have a suggestion on where to start?
    I can't afford to buy a bunch of differnt powders just to try out.(I am new to this game of reloading)

thanks

Well, Saltwater, you're in the right place now, for sure,

Others will chime in this with more experience than mine, but I'll start
    One thing I look for is in some manuals, they actually list (have small asterisk by) the "most accurate powder" from their testing,
    that's hard for me to ignore,

second, I try to look for one whose load numbers have the potential to fill the case to a high degree toward that cases capacity,
    usually listed in manuals also, on the far right, how full the case will be at max, that also makes sense to me and I've read it's "desirable" to get close to capacity if you can (hopefully an oldtimer will chime in on that here)

and if you are loading for more than one caliber, or even several different bullets for your rifle,
    I try to look for the powder "Most Applicable, to all my plans for future loading" (to keep it simple, for now)
    For example, If it says H4831sc on this one, "Can I use the same for all the different bullets, I plan for, or is there one powder that will cover more bases for me than others.

As for the whole "Slower Burning, Faster Burning, Spherical, or Flake, etc. that's a bit over my head at this point,
    I am reading up on it all in a good book "Propellant Profiles"
    Seriously excellent book, answers a tremendous amount of questions like those