Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8'6" vs 9'0" Beam?

Default 8'6" vs 9'0" Beam?

Am having a 26' Glacier Craft built and trying to decide between
    an 8'6" or 9'0" beam. Will be trailering the boat a lot but like the idea of wider deck and more stability on the water. I'm relatively new to salt water boating and would appreciate all feedback on this.

I'm not up on the oversize vehicle requirements, but 9' will put you right at the limit for width which may then require an oversize permit and "oversise" sign front and rear every time you want to trailer it. It might not be worth the pain of getting a permit every time if required.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Mud is correct, probably not worth the hassle. I am curious though, how much do you think your boat and trailer combo will weigh full of fuel and water?
    Tennessee

Default beam

I have a friend that has that exact boat. His was the last hull that was actually built down in Washington, then finished up here. His is 8'6" and he loves it. It is set up with a salon and galley, with the head in the v-berth. I believe that he has the extended cabin, too, but I am not 100% certain. He started with F115's and had one stolen out of his driveway. He repowered with F150's and is really pleased. He burns about the same at cruise due to the fact that the engines are not working as hard.

I have a 29x10 currently under construction. I have been thoroughly impressed with the craftmanship and construction of these hulls. Jason is one heck of a welder and the rest of the crew really prides themselves in turning out a superior product. I CANNOT WAIT TO CHRISTEN THIS BOAT!

Congrats on the purchase!

Red face

Bigger is always better (except for electronics and asses)!

Default 9'