Thread: DIY Install a Timney Trigger, or Not ??

Default DIY Install a Timney Trigger, or Not ??

So, I'm working with a Ruger Model 77 MK II, 30-06, It has the most funky trigger I've ever pulled,

looking at Timneys online, it looks like they are intended to be installed by the buyer at home (?)
    It's intimidating as all get out, to me, with stuff I've read, "filing a little here, maybe redrilling something there," etc.
    But there seems to be nobody in town Kodiak currently Gunsmithing,
    the guys at Macks said, "they'll send 'em out for Trigger work,"

So have you guys done this, it's really easy, or not ??

I'm a fairly competent mechanic, just spooked by the importance of the Trigger Safety, etc. Plus it's not my rifle, can't screw around,
    unless it's really just a drop in, then I gotta do it. Sounds like a dream solution for this rifle.
    Ten Hours in that little raft off the AK peninsula, blowin' NW 60, in November.... "the Power of Life and Death is in the Tongue," and Yes, God is Good !

I know it's not what your looking for, but good reading on the ruger trigger.
    I did it to one of mine and it came out nice.

http://www.centerfirecentral.com/77trigger.html

As for as a Timney in a mkII, I'm not a pro but I put one in. Pretty easy. If you need to adjust the safety go slow.
    You'll probably have to inlet the stock a little also.

I'd work on the factory trigger, if you mess it up you could then go with a Timney or other aftermarket trigger.
    "The older I get, the better I was."