Thread: Advice on 460 S&W loads

Default Advice on 460 S&W loads

I know I have been asking a lot about 460 S&W but need some advice, as this is my first time loading any handgun rounds

I got my first batch of 20 loaded up Using starline brass, and WLR primers. I used 29.4 grains of accurate #9 powder, and topped it off with 300 grain Hornady XTPs. I shold be getting around 1500 FPS with this load, my question is, should I be crimping or anything else before I fire them?

Thanks
    Some people call it sky busting... I call it optimism
    "Swans are a gift" -DucksandDogs
    I am a shoveler's worst nightmare!

I think youíre on your way quite well, I donít like Winchester primers and have never used #9 but know some guys that have good luck with them. I use CCI primers with Lilgun and some H110/W295 under CP lead in my 460s. Lilgun is my favorite by far for delivering big power cleanly and Iíve had no issue with flame cutting at all after burning over 5lbs of it through one of my guns. All my 460 data comes from Hodgdon on-line data because there was no data in any of the books when I started loading for it and this source has served me quite well.

Some kind of crimping is a must for the hot stuff to be sure your gun doesnít lock from un-seated bullets when you need it most. There is a crimp built into my 460 dies and it works fine if all adjusted which is a pain so I want a Lee factory crimp die at some point. I test my defense ammo by loading 5 in the gun with the 5th marked and OAL measured. Fire the 4 un marked rounds, then put in 4 more and fire them, 4 more and fire them. After that 5th round has been through the 12 recoil cycles re-measure the OAL to see if the bullet moved any.
    Good luck and holler if you need to.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona