Thread: Winter driving routes thru Canada

Default Winter driving routes thru Canada

Sorry. I know its not dog training specific but I didn't find a forum chapter that this would fit under. But this is sorta related.
    For the last several years I have been "going out" for winter training. This year is no different but I have a much larger crew of dogs going. So I will be driving out.
    I'm familiar with the Alcan - Prince George route and know it is well cleared during winter.
    But I have no experience on the Dease Lake Hwy/Stewart-Cassiar Hwy that also leads to Prince George. Entering US via Washington. It seems to be less mileage but wondered if road conditions would actually make it slower. I'm guessing I would be better off traveling the main Alcan Highway, it is probably a better road. Does anyone know about this road during winter? Better or worse?

@ Seminary, Dubuque Ia

If you are used to driving in Alaska it will be fine. It has more logging trucks during the summer than the other route, and is probably more remote than the other during the winter. It has more twists and turns but is still pretty straight, weather will dictate how fast you can go. I have driven it during the winter and would do so again without hesitation.
    If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction.
    Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Ketchikan, AK

I drove it in the end of September, there was hardly any traffic which was good but if you had vehicle issues ---there ain't much out there. Cell service was pretty spotty, roads as noted where fairly straight, but there were some old frost issues that probably are still there.

I've never been on it in the winter.

Probably the best forum for this would have been the "Relocating to Alaska" forum. Look over there for lots of similar information for those who are planning to move up here.