Thread: Cylinder Honing

Default Cylinder Honing

Can someone reccomend a good place to have a couple of cylinders honed in Anchorage, or close by.

This is on an 05 Polaris 800. BTW does anyone know if these were coated or not, they don't look like it, but I'm no expert.

Thanks

I know for sure you cylinders are nicasil coated. As for where to get them honed, just about any sled or cycle shop should have the right size hone, it only takes a few minutes. If I lived in Anc. I would do it for you.

OK, maybe it's time I learned to do this myself. Anyone know where they sell a hone for this. My manual talks like it's not that hard to do, so I think I'll give it a try.

Worst case I buy a couple of new cylinders. Which when I needed cylinders honed last time, I found it was the same price to buy remanufactured cylinders from Snowmobile Salvage, than to have one of the dealerships hone my old ones.

Any tips on doing this.

I bought mine from snap-on, it was like $30. You will need to know your bore diameter in millimeters to make the purchase. I believe there are instructions on the package as well if your not sure.

Thanks, Kenai, However I may be out of luck. As I was cleaning these up in preperation, I noticed I small chip in the coating.

I'm not familiar with these type cylinders, is this chip cause to trash the cylinder, or is it OK since it is close to the bottom and very small.

I posted this question on another forum, if someone happens to see it. I'm just trying to get a couple of opinions on the cylinder.
    Attached Images Attached Images

It's kind of hard to see. What happened to it, did you stick a piston? If that's a chip, my preference would be to replace it. If there is aluminum in the cylinder, it can be washed out with acid, but I can't remember the name of the correct stuff right now.

Quote Originally Posted by Rickb1b View Post