Thread: Spend My Money

Default Spend My Money

To start, I am new to Alaska from Montana and have been a fan of Magnums for some time... Why, I don't know. I need (haha) a gun larger than a 30 caliber (my "big" gun is a 30-06) and am torn between a 8mm Remington Mag and a .340 Weatherby. Tell me what I need 'best' to hunt Alaskan game. I know that this is such an over kill topic but I just don't know what direction to take. I am thinking around a 200-240gr bullet. Availability is not a concern with either caliber.

Thanks

Nothing wrong with a .30.
    The 30-06 will kill everything that you find here. Provided you use a quality bullet and put it in the killing spot.

I have an 8 Rem Mag, among others. My go to gun has been the 8 for 30 years and no regrets. I just picked up an '06 last year and can't wait to try it out.

If you see a good price on an honest 8, pick it up, you won't be sorry.
    Live life and love it
    Love life and live it

.338 WinMag, 225 grain Swift AFrame, you'll never regret it.

I would get a 375 H&H To go with your '06 that way your covered from Deer to Brown Bear.

325WSM, in a Winchester Extreme Weather. It's right were you want to be with out the awful recoil of some of the others. Worked well for me this year from the Salt to the Mountains. I have some great loads in both 200 and 220 grain. If in the Fairbanks area we can go to the range and shoot a few rounds. Won't say it is the best, but it has proven itself to me. We are way beyond the dating phase!!! My pet load is a 200 grain Accubond traveling at 3100 fps, nice flat shooting and hard hitting. The 325 uses 8mm bullets.

Welcome to the forum.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Steve, something tells me your .06 pump gun is gonna get a lot of rest in the gun cabinet from here on out. lol

Quote Originally Posted by mdhunter View Post