Thread: Snares and wolf question

Default Snares and wolf question

hello all out there in cyberspace,had a few questions....

Can I make my own snares out of stainless 1/8 inch trolling cable for canines?? just buy the components and crimp them up?? What is the best locking device? What is pre loading?? Will the small 8 inch spool diameter mess with the way the cable wants to "lay"?? What do most AK trappers use for snares on canines?? I heard the thompsons are good??

Also, if an alpha wolf is caught will the other(s) stay around with the leader or do they leave??

cordova, ak

hey rosscoak. i dont know much about trapping cause i am just getting into it myself.. but there is a couple older threads on here about making snares that had pictures and explain about pre-loading... look back a couple pages and im sure you will find it.. hope that will help ya

wasilla ak

hey ross...i was at a trapping association meeting the other day and a nice man gave a pretty good talk about wolf snaring and he answered some of your questions...

-you can make your own snares....1/8 1 by 19 or 7 by 7 cable is preferred galvanized or stainless....if thats what you have then you should be good
    -as for locks thompson locks and surelocks seem to be the strongest and best for wolves....if you have a lot of moose in your area you may want to "moose proof" your snares but cutting the lock so it breaks from the moose pulling but will not break when a wolf pulls on it
    -pre-loading is bending the last 10 inches or so maybe 12 or 14 for a wolf are bending it with the natural curve of the wired...this makes it close faster
    -8 inch spool diameter shouldn't matter....if you can make a nice loop with about 77 inches of cable then you should be fine