Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Bullet Puller (in your opinion)

Default Best Bullet Puller (in your opinion)

I am new to reloading and need a bullet puller. What is the best puller for it's price?

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

I've used 2 or 3 types of the poundy things, but recently I got the Hornady Collet bullet puller.

Collet Pullers are made my other manufacturers, but the Hornady has the Toggle Lever, that tightens it back the same way as it's adjusted each time.

It works reely great for me.
    I've used it to pull MANY bullets.
    It doesn't damage or even mark the bullet.

So, I think the Hornady, is probably the best. ????

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

From what you say, it beats the snot out of the RCBS I have Smitty. I've been using hammer types for years in spite of dinged bullet points, just because I hate the RCBS so much. Time to reconsider (and buy).

Depends if you're pulling one bullet or a few dozen. For just a few rounds at a time I still reach for an old impact bullet puller. Collet bullet pullers are certainly a very good option and for doing several cartridges at a time they are faster and can pull bullets that impact bullets cannot. However, buying each necessary collet for the various bore size you need can get expensive and a impact puller is a "one size does it all." Nice to have both in your inventory, but I recommend starting with the impact puller as it represents a better value for most reloaders IMO.
    Esse quam videri