Thread: Practicing casting in winter

Default Practicing casting in winter

I am new to fly fishing and I want to get some practice in but don't know if it is ok to practice during winter. So what do you guys do during winter?

Why the hell would it not be ok?
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

I go fishing, moving water really helps practice spey casting

it can be cold though...
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

this is my first year spey fishing so i need all the practice i can get. i have a membership to the dome here in anchorage and i cast in the center while all the runners huff and puff around the track. i get out and cast there every once in awhile.

Quote Originally Posted by danattherock View Post
    Why the hell would it not be ok?
    Well I didn't know what harm if any the snow or ice would have on the equipment, I just didn't know when practicing your casts what would the snow do to the line.

Practice casting on any surface can be pretty tough on lines I'd say astro turf is probably the best, grass is ok too, snow is probably fine especially if its clean/fresh snow. Practice casting will definitely make your lines wear out faster, but it can be worth it, especially if you are new to the game.

Check out echo's micro practice rod... It is really really great for practicing.

Quote Originally Posted by kantill View Post
    I am new to fly fishing and I want to get some practice in but don't know if it is ok to practice during winter. So what do you guys do during winter?
    Go down to the Kenai in Cooper Landing and practie there on the water. Take some black articulated leeches and some beads with you and you might even catch a fish or two....
    Alaska: We're all here cuz we're not all "there"

Quote Originally Posted by ak_powder_monkey View Post