Thread: fox/coyote snaring help?

Default fox/coyote snaring help?

heres the deal. this is my first year trapping fox and yotes, 3 weeks into the season and still no fur. initialy we began trapping this area in search of lynx. while we have seen sign of lynx, we have seen way more sign of fox/coyote(coyote in particular). we have ten sets out with an average of two snares per set. we only use snares.

guys, i really need some help.
    i just have no expeirence in snaring dog critters and have no idia on how to effectivly set for them. any pics of how to set for them or discriptions,tips, tricks would be greatly appriciatted.

thanks
    joe,

A couple of random thoughts...

Dont walk on their trails! Coyotes in my area will veer off if they see your foot prints in fresh snow.

Find places where the coyote trail heads through a necked down spot with a suitable anchor point. DONT use TOO much guiding. One piece of long grass hanging over the lock is usually enough.

Make sure your snares are clean and not shiny for coyotes (some folks disagree, but I think it is important)

Try to approach the snare area from behind brush or low spots that the yote wont see from his path. Dont spend a half hour getting everything perfect, the longer you are there the more scent and sign you are leaving.

Just keep trying, and pay attention to the misses. They are even more important than the catches. You may get lucky and catch a yote and think you got it figured out, but maybe it was just a dumb one. When they stop in front of the snare and turn around, you can learn what you did wrong, contaminated snare, not concealed, etc...

Generally, if they stop like 10' away and peel off on a different direction, they've seen the snare.

When the tracks lead right up to the snare and back out, they have smelled it.

Keep trying and it will start clicking, you just have to be willing to have an open mind and be persistent.

good luck.