Thread: Recommend a retriever breeder

Default Recommend a retriever breeder

Hopefully a few waterfowl enthusiasts are still looking at this forum lately. I need your advice, the decision has been made to get my first lab.

For those of you who have gotten puppies in the Anchorage/Valley area, which breeder would you recommend, and why?

If you are a breeder I would like to hear from you too.

PM if you want, appreciate the help, this is a big step as I am totally new to training and dog owning and want to do this right. Thanks!

Are you looking for a Labrador or a Chesapeake or some other type of retriever?

From what I have learned by reading and talking to those who know dogs, it sounds like a Labrador is what I want. Perhaps on the smaller side, as I do hunt out of a canoe quite a bit.

Default Do your homework !!

Don't fall victim to sales pitches or buy on impulse because they are so cute.
    There is a huge difference from one litter of pups to the next. Get to know the parents of each litter. See how they act in the field, how they are trained, how they move and general personality. Then ask for health clearances for the litter that peaks your interest from the above. Hips, elbows, eyes, EIC, CNM and etc. If the breeder has no clue what you are talking about.... GO ELSEWHERE and in a hurry. I am extremely biased about this and have reason. I use to operate a Lab Rescue and have seen what local breeders(those that didn't do clearances) have produced. I also train gundogs and competition retrievers. I have seen and had diagnosed way too many cases of hip and elbow dysplacia pop up in dogs in training. I have also seen three cases of EIC. It sucks to have to call an owner and tell them that their prize pup can't stay in training any longer. They then have to call my vet to get an explanation of why.
    In my opinion, you want to put forth the best effort into your future companion on performing for you for many years without genetic health issues.