Thread: Lookie What I Bought...

Default Lookie What I Bought...

I believe this is my new .425 Westley-Richards. Now before anyone has a fit, NO I do not buy collectibles and chop them. I personally detest that. This will depend entirely on the condition of the barrel; if it doesn't shoot, I send the action to a custom 'smith with international credentials for a classic English rifle build. It will most definitely not be a bubba-gun.
    1936 mauser receiver.jpg
    1936 mauser left.jpg
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Nice find. Who does your work when you send it out?

I don't know much about the 425 W-R - is it on the same order as a 404 Jeffery, length wise?

Quote Originally Posted by GD Yankee View Post
    Nice find. Who does your work when you send it out?

I don't know much about the 425 W-R - is it on the same order as a 404 Jeffery, length wise?
    Interesting question you ask. The cases are in all respects, almost identical except for base diameter (the W-R is rebated, the Jeff is not), and a degree or so on the shoulder. You can neck up the Jeff for a .425 bullet and go shoot them. The early English had no problems with copying someone else's work and naming it their own. W-R came out before the Jeff.