Thread: Bring them or sell down here?

Default Bring them or sell down here?

In the planning phase of moving to Alaska. I currently own a 15' War Eagle pushed by an Evinrude 30 HP Long Shaft, 14' Crestliner jon boat (pushed by a 15HP but usually rowed), and a 14' Carstens Mallard Marsh Boat.

The War Eagle is pretty a heavy duty jon boat designed for big water diver hunting, in fact I bought it to hunt divers on thre big water of Devils Lake. My guess is it would be at least a decent river boat for Alaska. The jon & marsh boat were bought for slough hunting. My guess is the jon would be useful and the marsh boat worthless for alaska.

So what is your opinion, are any/all of these bought useful in Alaska, or rather bringing them with the move, should I just sell them down here and look for boat(s) when I get settled in up there?

I'm no boat expert, but I would think you should at least consider swapping out the longshaft on that War Eagle. Most of the rivers up here are fairly shallow. The majority of river boats I see running the shallows up here are either jet boats, or tunnel hull jons. I've also seen a few short shaft props.

And the marsh boat is certainly useful up here. It would be ideal for waterfowl habitat if you're into duck/goose hunting.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.

Bring them all the marsh boat you will use weather you hunt small lakes or rabbit slough when you have to portage a boat.

Sell the War Eagle on Craig's List in Alabama! On the long shaft, that is probably what the boat transom requires, put a short shaft on and it will just sit there and burble! I'd say maybe keep your two smaller boats for putting around the smaller lakes and shallows, and sell the long-shaft river boat and get a jet boat in AK for the bigger rivers...