Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sno-go when calling?

Default Sno-go when calling?

My buddy and I have been calling for a number of years. Sometimes we use them, and other time we don't. I don't mind them, my buddy hates using them. We both agree there are pros and cons of using machines while calling.........so what does everyone think? Do you use them? Why or why not? Just curious to see what other are doing and thinking!

I hope you drum up some discussion with this because I've been wondering the same thing. I'm pretty new to hunting predators and would like to know if I'm going about it wrong. I ride my snow machine out, hide it in the trees, walk 50-100 yards from it, wait a few minutes and start calling. After 15-20 minutes I get back on the sled and ride a mile or so away before repeating the process. I wonder if the sound of the sled drives them outta the country and I'm wasting my time with calling? I do have x-country skis so I could go in quiet but I couldn't cover near the ground.

They have their place. It all depends on where you are hunting I suppose. If you are in thick cover where it will be hard to get in with the machine then it is kind of pointless but if you have to go down trails and open field/tundra to get to your stands then it will be a great tool to have. wyobohunter just nailed it without it you cant cover nearly as much ground. As for noise either I go where they are use to it or it doesn't bother them. I have a summit 800 2stroke with a MBRP can and it is LOUD even at idle and while putting around slow it is loud and I have still had decent success at least with the calling aspect of things. I also take my snowshoes or xc skis to get further in once I use it to get close to my calling spots. And I have a white bed sheet with some little camo job done on it to toss over the bright yellow cowling when I get parked..