Thread: Low End .223

Default Low End .223

I am a poor college student and for christmas my pops has agreed to spend about 300 bucks on a rife for my coyote hunting in North Dakota. I already have nice optics so thats no longer an issue. I was just wondering if the stevens model 200 or the cheap marlins or remingtons would be worth while buying in alaska. I have a feeling I will be much better off buying used. Any pointers are welcome

Before you make your choice check out the comments on Stevens and Marlins online. You can get comments and reviews from most major suppliers, worth the effort. Both are maybe butt ugly but they are shooters! Glass is important, so if you already got that yes you can have a tack driver for $300.00. They may not be jewel smooth but if you scratch it, you do not worry quite as much as if it were a Sako!...Desertdog

I had a dandy rifle stolen out of my truck a few years ago and replaced it with a Stevens 200 in 223. I bought this one equiped with a cheap Simmons scope used for $249 dollars.

I have had my share of high dollar varmint rifles with good scopes on them but the little Steven's will shoot as good as the best of the best. I usually hunt with my 243 but hate to leave it in the truck. We have FM radios in our trucks and leave them turned on all winter. It is not uncommon to be about my dailey business and get a shout on the radio from one of the boys who has a coyote spotted and needs a little assistance. I have killed a half dozen coyotes in such situations with the Stevens.