Thread: Science or sciency policy at AKDF&G

Default Science or sciency policy at AKDF&G

Very interesting read on the current AKDF&G situation as well as the past history of how the Department functioned within the realm of politics vs science.

Quote Originally Posted by AK Ray View Post
    Very interesting read on the current AKDF&G situation as well as the past history of how the Department functioned within the realm of politics vs science.
    While at UAF, EVERY hardcore biology student that intended to go into "fish & game management" I met was of the unshaved pits, round glasses, wool pants/shirts variety. It has always been about saving the animals from the bad, bad humans.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Ray, I was just gonna post this too, thanks.

There is much in there I agree with Medred on. One of the key things he didn't hit on in talking about how our system was set up initially, is that it was recommended to our AK constitutional convention that any board(s) of fish and game be of a bipartisan nature to avoid partisan politics having an overwhelming role.

That didn't come to be.

And that is our largest problem imo, no matter which side of the aisle one is on or how one feels our fish and game should be managed.

Quote Originally Posted by Nitroman View Post
    While at UAF, EVERY hardcore biology student that intended to go into "fish & game management" I met was of the unshaved pits, round glasses, wool pants/shirts variety. It has always been about saving the animals from the bad, bad humans.