Thread: Next thing to try

Default Next thing to try

I am a hunter and fisherman who has fished most of my life. As a kid I loved to fish for large mouth bass in Ohio. Now that I am older and live in the greatest place on earth. I would love to learn how to ice fish. I have never done it and is my next adventure I would like to try. If anyone can get me started by any way possible would be better than what I know now.
    Hunt until you don't like it any more

Thumbs up Not in Ohio (or Michigan) any more

Quote Originally Posted by jcorwin4278 View Post
    I am a hunter and fisherman who has fished most of my life. As a kid I loved to fish for large mouth bass in Ohio.
    JC, if you were closer to here I'd offer to take you out, though I'm no expert.

Some people use tip ups (mechanical device that you set there) and some do vertical jigging; I've always found the latter more productive and more fun too. Drop it to the bottom, lift up just a bit, and then "be the bait" and be attractive in your movements, color, etc...

Hopefully someone up there can take you out. I can vouch for you being a great guy to spend time with afield. Anyone that might take the time to take you under their icefishing wing would be well rewarded by the experience, for sure.

Funny you mention large mouth bass. That was my first fish too; that's what my Dad first taught me to fish in Michigan (right next to Ohio), where I was born. He taught me to land a popper within a few inches of a lillypad and then expect (though it didn't always happen) a huge splash to result immediately as the largemouth hit it. Fun, fun, stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by jcorwin4278 View Post