Thread: mauser to mannlicher sporter

Default mauser to mannlicher sporter

Hello all,
    A.D.D. is setting in and I'm looking for a winter project.
    I have a chance to buy a 7x57 vz-24 without any crest, and some other cracked mausers. I want to do a project with the kids to build a 7x57 mannlicher stocked hunting rifle.

I've hunted with milsurps since childhood, but never "sporterized" one.
    I hear that the cost may be more than a new rifle. Anyway, is there a place to buy mannlicher stock that are pretty much all cut out and need minor fit and stain? Should I use a carbine to start or buy a new barrel?

I'm looking for any info for making a sporter with a mannlicker stock from a 98, 24/47, Vz-24, or M48 in 7x57.
    The forum rules invited me to ask experts.... I ain't one (yet). I was a mechanic, and aircraft mechanic, have tools and access to a machine shop and good for hire gunsmith. I'm looking toweigh all of my possibilities without hacking an otherwise fine milsurp rifle. I'll probably find one that has already been somewhat sporterized because they are so cheap.

FInding a milsurp 7x57 with a really good barrel is going to be very tough. Fortunatly repalcement barrels are easy to find but there goes the cost way up.

I'd try to find a Mark X or such with a 7x57 barrel already on it and then re-stock it. By the time you rebarrel, drill and tap, forge the bolt, replace the trigger etc. converting a milsurp just isn't worth time anymore.
    Living the urban lifestyle so I can pay my way and for my family's needs, and support my country. And you?
    ".. ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country" JFK

Yea, I'm starting to see the costs of what you are saying. I just wanted a project with the kids. The Mark X idea looks good and I could sell the stock to off-set the cost of restocking.

Satisfaction in turning an old firearm into just the rifle you want: priceless.