Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: BATFE Requiring Retailers to Report Multiple Long Gun Sales

Default BATFE Requiring Retailers to Report Multiple Long Gun Sales

I just received this from a 'smith I'm acquainted with in Michigan. I guess the term 'emergency' makes it acceptable any more.

In my opinion, it seems to run counter to the 1968 GCA's references to there being no federal gun registration (with the exception of class III, etc.)

http://www.nssfblog.com/atf-to-requi...for-long-guns/

All firearms are registered. Form 4473's have been digitally scanned and stored in the West Virginia facility since 1988. If you filled out papers on a firearm, you are on the list. Period. End of discussion.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I'm well aware of the shift that occurred re. storing hard-copy 4473s and the current storing of that data on discs. But those 4473s aer not required to be submitted until a FFL goes out of buisiness. Those forms are not fior submission until that 'shop' closes.

No one that I know of has taken serious time and effort yet to contest that violation, either. And when it happens, (assuming it hasn't already) ATFE will likely claim that there's no registration, per se', though anyone with any amount of computer experience knows that once the data is on disc it can be manipulated, etc.

But that's beside the point. Legal authority to do what's being done is lacking in both circumstances.

It's akin to saying, "Well, that thief down the road has already broken into my house and catalogued my possessions once, so I guess there's no real harm in them doing it again."