Thread: Howdy...

Devils Lake ND

Default Howdy...

Howdy fellow gundog addicts. NDT from Devils Lake ND here. Posted a bit on the hunting forums in 07' and have been lurking a bit since.

I am an am gundog trainer, prefering to work with labs. Being in DL my girls Josie (Jacie's Dakota Gold) and Sunny (Gabbriella's Dakota Sunrise) get a lot of waterfowl work. This year was a bit slow by our standards and the girls split 150 some odd retrieves.

Really interested to learn how living in Alaska affects your training & hunting. About all we have to worry about down here is the occasional snake when hunting upland out west or the dogs getting cut running into a fence. A few years ago while hunting sharps in Sept. about 30 miles east of my farmstead, Josie and I did run smack into a paddle racked bull moose bedded in a patch of red willow out in a CRP field. Josie was used to our horses and I think she thought it was one as she ran right up to it. Was an interesting situation to back out of. 1-1/8 oz loads of #7.5s do not give a feeling of security when your well meaning lab is jacking around a moose!

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself & say howdy...