Thread: Specie selection - gardening

Post Specie selection - gardening

Hi,

Im pretty new to gardening, especially in a colder climate, so im curious which species to select when gardering up north. I'll probaly start with potatoes, tomatoes, onions, carrots and such, cause these species shouldnt be to hard to grow, right? and they provide solid nutritions.

About the species, i'll try to make a list, and update this thread/list while recieving new information about 'which species to select in AK'. With the input of many experiences and knowlegde we should be able to provide a solid list, for the beginner, such as myself!

Till now i've found the next information about the species:

Tomatoes : Starfire, Oregon Spring & Golden Nugget.
    Potatoes : Long white, Peanut, Reds, Norlunds & Kennebecks.
    onions : [usual species] - White, Red, Yellow onions.
    carrots : -

Other vegetables, and specie information about these, will be more than welcome and added to the list to get it complete...

Survivalist.
    ps: how can i edit a thread ones its submitted?

Welcome to the forum, survivalist. Been a long while snce I was in Holland. I miss the place. We have friends in Bimmel who used to live in Arnhem the last time I was there, and other acquaintances up north in Eelderwolde, near Groningen; a fellow I met in the Yukon Territory in the 70s.

The starfires you listed are nolonger available commercially, and I don't know anyone who stashed seeds for them. I wish I did. I'd get my hands on all I could take, if I could.

The oregon spring are similar to the starfires, though.

Spuds offer a great opportunity for experimenting with different types, as there's a wide variety of them, and I've yet to find any that don't grow here. The Swedish Peanuts will not likely produce the weight per plant you might want, nor are they quite as flavorful as some of the other fingerling varieties, but good rich organic nutrients can boost the flavor in most crops, too.