Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Another Shoot or Don't shoot Sheep

Default Another Shoot or Don't shoot Sheep

the pic doesn't get any better than this one. The guy on the right is a shooter. But what about the one on the left? Could he be 1/2" shy? Does he qualify as broomed? Or just a little bit of wear and tear on the tips? Maybe it's obvious to you veteren sheep guys, but it could be fun to hear some opinions.

I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

The left horn on the sheep on the left is appears to be just short of full curl, non shooter IMO without seeing the other side, and I am not experienced enough at counting rings

Both are shooters, 33-34 inches, probably central AK range, very light mass. About 5 seconds to evaluate. One on right is legal by age as well, not as certain on age on one on left.

Time for a double, boys. :-)

The guy on the right yes. left one I just could not do it.... next year.

But his head is slightly tilted towards the camera offering a different view. What if his head was level? I'm only enjoying this because I see a sheep like that as something that will get a person in trouble.

Neither are even close to being considered broomed. The guy on the left actually looks like he will be an inch longer than one on right btw.

I concur that the one the left is legal, and I don't think it's broomed either. But figured someone would see a slightly rounded tip and say broomed, BOOM!!!

Quote Originally Posted by AKBoater View Post
    the pic doesn't get any better than this one. The guy on the right is a shooter. But what about the one on the left? Could he be 1/2" shy? Does he qualify as broomed? Or just a little bit of wear and tear on the tips? Maybe it's obvious to you veteren sheep guys, but it could be fun to hear some opinions.