Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: is oil oil?

Default is oil oil?

curious if i can run any 2 stroke oil in a sled...i know there's outboard oil thats 2 stroke..is it basicly the same stuff? dont' see much snowmachine oil at walmart...
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

One thing I can tell you for sure is cheap oil will drastically reduce the life of any 2 stroke engine. As a mechanic I have taken many apart that I knew the history of what type oil was used, you could see the build up on the parts. In a 2 stroke the oil in the gas is what lubes the crank and rod bearing and also reduces friction damage between the piston and cylinder wall, quality oil also reduces friction and this helps with overheating.

Your manual should list recommended oil rating. A would guess that the marine version would work fine and just have extra corrosion additives for a marine environment. I ran synthetic marine oil in my RMK and never had any trouble.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/