Thread: my first ever mink!

Talking my first ever mink!

well, Im just getting into trapping and i have bagged my first animal (besides a rabbit) today. it is a beautiful buck mink!!! my first. as you can see he is still thawing out and still in the 110 coni that i caught him in. for my set i took an old coffee can and put some salmon belly meat in the back of it with the 110 coni at the entrance. then i tucked it back in against the bank of a little shallow creek that still had some open water. i ended up with this guy!

hay mink, smile for the camera!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PB160005.jpg   PB160006.jpg  

Dude that is really awesome... I wish I could find some open water around here.. I think I might know an area with a little open water... I will have to scout it soon to see if I see other people in the area. Great mink. this is my first year and we are going out Thursday to check our line. Hope I can show you all something then.

Very cool! THanks for sharing! I missed the refuge class so I'm not going to get to start this year, but posts like this got me itchin!

Ya, way to go Joe. Always good to see what you drag in.
    Glad to see you got a line going, I'm sure your gonna put in the work. Good job!

Joe,

I really love to see new young trappers out there, congrats on the mink.

Now be careful skinning that thing, my wife used to really not like when I'd cut into the glands and stink up the whole cabin...they can really be powerful smelly! And they tend to be real fat too, so they take a bit of fleshing.

Continued success, thanks for posting,

Good lord, we have some kind of fur-bearer slaying savant on our hands! Awesome kid, keep it up!

Great job joefish, you're having a good season. I think that mink is winking at your camera are you sure that he was dead?

Nice size mink compared to what we have here,congrats
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

thanks guys,