Thread: Retiring and Moving to Sterling

Default Retiring and Moving to Sterling

I'm fixing to retire in the next 18 months or so. My wife is from Sterling and her family has left her a house so that's were we are headed. I'm a life long hunter from the deep south. I know you have Moose,Caribou and bear. But what else is up there. I like small game and wing shooting. I have an '06,SxS 12ga,22LR and a 44 handgun. So figure i can cover a pretty wide variety. How is the hunting on the Penninsula? I was a military survival instructor for a few years before i moved to Search an Rescue. I spent about 2 months around Fairbanks in the winter, so i understand how dang cold it can get.

the Pen is a different world from Fairbanks. You will not see anywhere near the level of wingshooting that you can get in the south. We have Ptarmigan but you have to get up high to get into them. A snow machine (local term for Snowmobile) is your best bet to get out in the winter and get into them. Grouse are pretty readily available but they are a challenging wing shot as the generally live in the forest and are sometimes unwilling to flush. We don't have grain crops so no pheasant or other upland birds. You are not likely to see action like a day of quail hunting. Snowshoe Hare are cyclical but when their numbers are up the hunting can be fantastic. The Kenai Pen is truly famous for the fishing with some amazing salmon runs and some of the biggest chinook in the world. Other than that you have Dall Sheep and Mountain Goat on the Pen and you can travel to get into Sitka Blacktail deer.

Wing shooting in Alaska???
    The usual excuses for a missed bird are:
    "It ducked just as I shot."
    "It jumped up to the next branch, just as I shot."
    "I thought it was gonna fly & shot over it."
    "The glare from the blacktop blinded me."

Lots of duck hunting available, too.
    Gary