Thread: Force to Pile and Reinforcing Commands

Default Force to Pile and Reinforcing Commands

In my limited training expierence, I want to ask how many people actually use these methods and the Pro's and Con's. My older dog granted only 16 months old is a high drive dog and these methods just dont make much sense to me as he has no trouble doing the work. I primarily use the e-collar for corrections for things the dog knows and chooses to be disobedient about. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
    Jesse
    HR SHR JR's Gunny Dog "Ermey"
    SR JR's Marsh Mangling Mindy
    SR JR's LNR Thicket Thrashing Trixie

1st let me tell you where I'm coming from. I'm a retriever field trialer, a good one. I have been an amateur training retrievers for almost 20 years. I pretty much follow the Lardy system of collar conditioning, force fetch, force to a pile, double T, water force and swim by. That plus the baseball drills and obedience pretty much makes up my basics program. I use these basics to then go into transition and after that onto advanced retriever training. It takes me a little over a year from puppy obedience to what you could call an advanced retriever (roughly MH level although I'm mostly a trialer not a hunt tester).

It depends on where you want to go with your dog whether or not you want to go through a force program. I don't feel you can pick and choose a lot in this system although you can work obedience and never continue on from there. But you can't force to a pile without doing force fetch first. You can't water force until force to a pile is done. It's a sequential training program.

Now, where do you want to go with your dog? What are your goals? How much time do you want to spend doing this? How good of a retriever do you want?