Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wanting to fish the Kenai...

Default Wanting to fish the Kenai...

I am wanting to head down to the Kenai next weekend. I will be on foot and am asking what I should use for flies or set ups and where to go. I am not asking for specific locations(unless ya want to help out a rookie fly fisherman) I am asking for places to park or areas to walk an so on. Or if it is even worth it. I am not expecting to catch much. If anything. I just want to get out and have never fished past September. Any, and I mean ANY help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone. i hope to reply back with a good story or two. Cheers

Steve

i went out a couple weeks ago and i'm also a beginner. the only pull out that i saw tracks to the river was the pull out right past the russian parkinglot. it has probably covered up with snow by now but that place was good. didn't catch anything but people in floats were catching in that area. from there you can walk south along the river to this sandbar or beach area and try there. but once again i got skunked so i'm not positive if these places are productive. on my way back to anchorage i saw a few guys on the lake side of the bridge in cooper fly fishing, looks like they were in standing water though. wasn't too sure and was behind schedule so just jetted on home. might go on saturday, havn't made my mind up yet.

Just under the bridge is a good place to start. Caught my first bows and silvers there first time winter fishing on the Kenai last winter.
    I have such a hard time trying to decide which outdoor activity to do every chance I get!! Living in AK is a mental challenge

Quote Originally Posted by ADUKHNT View Post
    Just under the bridge is a good place to start. Caught my first bows and silvers there first time winter fishing on the Kenai last winter.

do you still have to pay to park at that launch during the winter?